I Don’t Think J. Cole Was Wrong

Though I am a J.Cole fan, I have disagreed with how he’s used his platform to address people in the past. But not this time.

Solomon Hillfleet
5 min readJul 1, 2020
Photo Courtesy of Scott Dudelson, Getty Images

What a year. If this global pandemic has shown us anything, it has shown us that anybody at any time can find themselves on the wrong side of the publicity and media lens. In the span of a few months, celebrities like Doja Cat, B. Simone, Desi Banks, and a host of other well-known people have found themselves having to apologize for comments they made publicly.

Normally I remain quiet in these matters, opting to simply sit by and allow the good times to roll. Those good times usually consist of tweets and memes meant to highlight inconsistencies and problematic actions taken by the said party. Inside, I often feel as if this environment does more harm than good, forcing people to hide their true thoughts and punishing them for failing to be in the know of the new agreed upon group thought, but I stay quiet. Until now.

It’s been a minute since it first landed on my timeline and it has given me some time to reflect. After giving it a thought, I realized my feelings on the subject hadn’t changed. I really tried to wrack my brain and think about how anyone could have thought it prudent to suggest canceling an artist like J.Cole.

--

--

Solomon Hillfleet

Avid reader, writer. Man of Alpha. Educator. Coach. Wisdom of Solomon. Follow me @samuelhwright.com